Our Boy

IMG_E1540.jpgOur buddy Flynn Elliot will be 2 in a couple months. He’s the middle kid for now, the only boy, the only blonde, and doesn’t have anything of his sisters’ quiet personalities. His favorite book is “Babies on the Move” which is perfect for who he is – a boy on the move. He will play a wild game of chase with his older sister “Emme” (Ember), yelling for her to “get him! get him!” and then run straight to his little sister “Siwia” (Sylvia) to pat her back when she’s sad.

Every morning when Elliot leaves for work, Flynn wails “Me! Me! Me!” at the door and sobs that he wants to go too. Flynn begs for Elliot all day long (it’s ok, he loves me too), and it gladdens my heart that he loves and looks up to his daddy so much.

Flynn loves sitting focused on the couch flipping through every page of every book and insisting on being cozy under a blanket. He loves to be doing whatever his big sister is doing and copies her incessantly. She tries so hard to be the boss of him, but Flynn won’t have any of it, responding to her (usually) good-natured orders with a quiet but defiant “no” or “want to” (short for don’t want to).

His excitement in helping me around the house is so cute – he pulls up a chair to watch when I’m making dinner, very cheerfully throws diapers in the “tash” for me, and if he sees me carrying the laundry basket he runs after me hollering “Monnees!” (laundry) and wants to help in any way he can. He likes sitting on the counter to help make “copy” (coffee) with us every morning and enjoys drinking the stuff with us too (don’t worry, his is mostly milk.)

We have had a challenging last year with this little guy, but through Flynn’s intense personality God is teaching Elliot and me a lot about patience. Flynn’s response to most questions is “Jesus,” which (aside from being adorable) is my daily reminder that Jesus should always be my response too.

One thought on “Our Boy

  1. I love this, Jill! Flynn is such a sweet little boy and I love him, and I love the reminder that “Jesus” should always be our response to everything.

Leave a comment