Early Morning

I love being up early. I love opening my eyes to soft, muddy light filtering through the curtains. While the rest of the world sleeps on, we early risers have been given the gift of just a little extra time to enjoy.

It was just just such a morning – I think it was 5am, and I woke up with that wonderful feeling of the first morning of vacation. My family was spending the week at my Nana’s Florida bungalow right on a swanky golf course near the beach.

I jumped out of bed wondering excitedly what such a day could hold and ran on tip toes to the kitchen. My dad is an early riser too, so there was no doubt in my mind that he was already up. Sure enough, my dad sat reading his Bible at the counter, his cup of coffee close by. Some parents might find it annoying to have their nice quiet morning interrupted by their kids, but never my dad. My dad was always happy to see me and would often tell me he was so glad for the company.

“Hi Jill! I’m about to go out and get a newspaper and a coffee, want to come with me?”

Boy, did I! I remember finding my shoes and walking quietly to the door with my dad. The street was dark and the porch lights aglow. I remember the thick Florida air greeting us as we made our way to the car. But I mostly remember knowing that the world was just so right. Leaving behind a sleeping house, just me and my dad off to an unknown gas station to get the morning paper. A whole bright day was ahead of us, and I was already up to get started.

Looking back on this little morning long ago, it would be easy to think that our world now is a much darker one than it was on that quiet, happy street as a little girl. But the world is the same. And that’s because God is the same. And we have been given many gifts to use for His glory, whether they be the gift of an early morning or a late one.

“For I know the plans I have for you… plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11


3 thoughts on “Early Morning

Leave a comment